

Bangabandhu Premier Division Chess League-2023-24

(Team Championship) 1st to 12th February, 2024

Tournament Rules

Bangabandhu Premier Division Chess League-2023-24 will be played in a single round robin league system and will be governed by FIDE - the official laws of chess (which were adopted at the 88th FIDE Congress at Goynuk, Antalya, Turkey) coming into force on 1 January 2018)

Time Control

Playing session will start from 3:00 PM. Time control is : 90min/40moves+30min/end+30sec increment per move starting from move 1.

Default Time

The default time is 60 minutes from the starting of the round.

Submitting daily player list

Every team, Each round the list of the team composition for that round will be submitted on www.chess-results.com. from night 10:00 PM to next morning 10:30 AM. Already sent the link with password for every team. Page will close after 10:30 AM so every team need submite that round players list before 10:30 AM. Otherwise, that round the top 4 boards according to their registration form will be accepted as the playing team.

Draw restrictions

The players are not allowed to offer a draw to their opponent before theirty (30) moves have been completed by both players.

A game is drawn according to the Articles 5.2.1, 5.2.2 and 9.6 of the Laws of Chess. A game may be drawn according to the Articles 9.2 of the Laws of Chess. In the case of a threefold repetition, the player has to claim to the Arbiter, as per article 9.2 of the Laws of Chess.

Final Standings and Tie-Breaking

Final Standing will be setup according to total match points. At least $2\frac{1}{2}$ or more than that game points out of four board will counted as a win. Winner team will get 2 match points for every win match.. If any match ends with draw by 2-2 game points then both the team will gets 1 match point each and looser will get no match point.

Tie-Breaking

The position of the teams that finish with the same number of match points shall be determined by application of the following tie-breaking procedures in sequence proceeding from (a) to (c)

- (a) By the number of game points scored
- (b) The results of the teams in the same point group according to match points.
- (c) Sonnneborn-Berger Tie-Break (with real points)
- (d) Birlin System

If a tie still results between teams in contention for Tropy and relegations to use all above tie-breaking systems than these teams shall play one blitz match (with 3 Minites + 2 seconds increment from move 1). Clolor of 1st board will be decided by drawing of

lots. If blitz match result end 2-2 than one player from each team shall play a sudden death The player who wins the drawing of lots may choose the color. The player with the white pieces shall receive 5 minutes, the player with the black pieces shall receive 4 minutes whereupon, after the 60th move, both players shall receive an increment of 3 seconds starting from move 61. In case of a draw the team with the black pieces is declared the winner.

Players performance rating shall be compared. If performance rating is equal the tie shall be broken in the following order: Direc Enconter,

Average rating of opponents, higher is better the greater number of wins

Only player who have played a minimun of 5 games (out of 10 rounds) shall be eligible for board prizes.

Arbiters

1. IA Md Haroon Or Rashid - Chief Arbiter

2. IA Shahjahan Kabir - Deputy Chief Arbiter

3. FA Mahmuda Hoque Chowdhury Moly - Arbiter
4. FA S M Tareq - Arbiter
5. FM Mohammad Shameem - Arbiter
6. FA Md Saiful Islam - Arbiter

7. FA Reasat-E-Noor - Fair Play Officer

1 All protests must be submitted in writing to the Appeals Committee with taka 2000.00 (Two thousand taka) not more than two hours after the relevant playing session.

2. The committee shall decide before noon of the following day and its decision is final.

Appeal Committee

GM Niaz Murshed

GM Ziaur Rahman

GM Enamul Hossain

Reserve

FM Sheikh Nasir Ahmed FM Mohammed Abdul Malek

Chess League Committee

1. Dr. Sharif Ashrafuzzaman - Chairman 2. Mr. Md Moniruzzaman Palash - Co-Chairman 3. Mr. Masudur Rahman Mallick Dipu - Secretary 4. Mr. Zakir Ahmed - Member 5. Mr. Md Sajol Mahmed - Member 6. Mr. Manjur Hossain Zimmu - Member 7. Comander Ramjan Ali - Member 8. Mr. Mohammad Amir Ali - Member 9. Mr. Rahat Hossain - Member 10. Mr. Mokaddesur Rahman Khan - Member - Member 11. Engr. Md. Feroz Kabir

Some important Rules

- (a) The players having the move is not allowed to leave the playing area without permission of the Arbiter. During play the players are forbidden to make use of any notes, sources of information or advice, or analysis on another chessboard.
- (b) During a game, a player is forbidden to have a mobile phone, electronic means of communication or any device capable of suggesting chess moves on their person in the playing venue. However, he may allow such devices to be stored in a player's bag, as long as the device is completely switched off or submitted to Arbiter. A player is forbidden to carry a bag holding such a device, without permission of the arbiter. If it is evident that a player has such a device on their person in the playing venue, the player shall lose the game. The opponent shall win.

Smoking is permitted only in the section of the venue designated by the Arbiter.

Relegation

Lowest team (11th Position) of the final ranking of Bangabandhu Premier Division Chess League-2023-24 will be relegated in the 1st Division Chess League-2024

Schedule

Date	Day	Starting Time	Round
01-02-2024	Thursday	3:30 PM	1st
02-02-2024	Friday	3:00 PM	2nd
03-02-2024	Saturday	3:00 PM	3rd
04-02-2024	Sunday	3:00 PM	4th
05-02-2024	Monday	3:00 PM	5th
06-02-2024	Tuesday	3:00 PM	6th
07-02-2024	Wednesday	3:00 PM	7th
08-02-2024	Thursday	3:00 AM	8th
09-02-2024	Friday	3:00 PM	9th
10-02-2024	Saturday	3:00 PM	10th
11-02-2024	Sunday	3:00 AM	11th
		8:00 PM	Prize Distribution

Wint Con

Syed Shahabuddin Shamim General Secretary Bangladesh Chess Federation